(record review)THE 1984 DRAFT-“Makes Good Choices”(Poptek Recs)

For those who don´t know The 1984 Draft are from Dayton, Ohio and I listened and reviewed their new record for this webzine.

The+1984+Draft+Makes+Good+Choices

Led by the mastermind songwriter Joe Anderl, these guys combine the sensitivity of pop punk and melodic punkrock with some darker and I dare say romantic undertones in their songs. The album contains 10 excellent songs for contemplating and at the same time enjoying the melodic riffs with beautiful vocal lines. The singing is nice and it suits perfectly into this band˙s opus. As I understood while listening, the lyrics are personal and easy to relate to. If I must compare the band to someone it would be like The Bouncing Souls meeting Morrissey and making an album worth of great songs. As for me, my personal favorite songs on this record are “Miss Ohio”, “Lutheran Heat” and above all “Lisbon Falls”. If you are fan of elaborate and melodic, also intelligent punkrock, check out this records because you won´t be sorry!

8/10

Social Media:

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.