(record review)EMPHASIS-“Black.Mother.Earth”(Geenger Records)

cover

It is hard to be objective because this band comes from my hometown in Croatia and I know personally most of the guys in the band, so it is hard to write something about their new album that I have just listened couple of times. It is already their third album and the guys have built for themselves a respectable place in the scene. Emphasis play post metal(how I hate that post prefixes) and it is not your usual artsy fartsy fantasizing, but very harsh and concrete version with rolling heavy drumming and thundering bass and guitars. The album contains 6 songs that are mostly long and I dont like long songs personally but in case of Emphasis the longevity of the songs is not a bad thing at all. The landscapes and surroundings that these songs provide are bleakness, greyness, moist and I must confess that in my opinion the music of Emphasis borders with sludge. The vocals are not in the front of songs, but rather their tortured howls serve as a catalyst for releasing all the despair. Guest female vocals on “Muna” are great, and the guest performance by Bojan from Eikonoise also enriched this album and made it a unique listening experience. I cant listen to Emphasis any time, but when I am in certain moods, this band and this album comes like a slap in the face of despair.

8/10

http://music.emphasis.band/album/black-mother-earth