(review) Skhemty – Sunrise on the Old Kingdom

I first learned about and started to listen and love dungeon synth through my friend Kktz(Tenebrositas, Talog) who sent me couple of releases and this was an ideal meditative and music for my darkened heart besides black metal. In time, I explored the scene and found out some really magnificent entities and releases. Skhemty hails from France and its theme is musical exploration of ancient Egypt, its mystic and mystery. But Skhemty also manages to create atmosphere of medieval Byzant and Middle East in its musical direction and this album is a keeper. There are eleven songs on this opus and what immediately comes to mind, songs are not too long or repetitive to become boring, quite the contrary. This is a epic and emotional dark journey filled with almost cinematic enthusiasm and a bit of melancholy and sadness. Great album for all you dungeon synth/dark ambient fiends out there. My personal favorites are Golden Age, Mirage over the Dunes and Ancient Ruins in the Desert.

9/10

Bandcamp

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.