Interview-TENEBROSITAS:”Visions of the forgotten world without any hope”

Tenebrositas from Croatia is a black metal band, and when I say black metal, I mean the way it should be, raw, primitive, desolate but also melodic and emotional. The new album is in works, so it was about time to talk for my zine with the mastermind Kktz.

THERE WAS QUITE SOME TIME FROM YOUR LAST ALBUM. HOW WAS THE REACTION AND FEEDBACK TO THE ALBUM? WAS THERE A PHYSICAL COPY OR JUST DIGITAL ONE?

First, sorry for my bad English but I will try to answer all your questions.  „Forever Nothing“ was second full length album by Tenebrositas, digitally released on Bandcamp in 2015. Since then it was released on tape by Wulfrune Worxx in France, and as proCDr by my own label Olden Sonorities. Soon to be re-released on tape by Dark Ritual in Germany. I am really satisfied with reaction as this is completely underground Black Metal in the style that isn’t trendy or hyped.

WHY BLACK METAL? WHAT IS THE BEAUTY IN THIS MUSIC? IS BLACK METAL ELITIST MUSIC? IS IT CONSERVATIVE AND PURIST TOWARDS OTHER METAL AND OTHER UNDERGROUND GENRE?

Melancholy and aggression, as it was defined by second wave, the purity of BM. I also like first wave sound and other old school variations of the genre, but with Tenebrositas I concentrate on just BM. So yes, you can say it is conservative as I am not into modern styles. Elitist to some generic to others, I guess. I got nothing to prove, it is how it works for me.

HOW DO YOU MAKE YOUR SONGS? DO YOU DRAW INSPIRATION FROM THE BLEAKNESS OF SLAVONIA WASTELANDS OR FROM YOUR INNER BEING? DO YOU FIGHT YOUR INNER DEMONS IN THE LYRICS?

With all its natural resources Slavonia should be the rich and beautiful region, but now it is indeed very bleak, dying part of the Europe. Such reality for sure inspired malistic (malism – the doctrine that the world is evil) aesthetics of Tenebrositas. Visions of the forgotten world without any hope, which at the same time are bringing some sort of escapism, because after all it is the music I enjoy.

tenebrositas2

SINCE TENEBROSITAS IS A ONE MAN BAND DO YOU PREFER IT THAT WAY, SINCE YOU CAN DO WHAT YOU WANT AND DO NOT NEED TO COMPROMISE WITH OTHER BAND MEMBERS? WOULD YOU LIKE TO PLAY LIVE SOME TIME IN THE FUTURE WITH REAL SESSION MUSICIANS?

Let it be as it is, once recorded the songs are done, left as some sort of artifacts.

HOW IS THE PROGRESS GOING ON REGARDING THE NEW ALBUM? IS IT GOING TO BE DIFFERENT THAN THE OLDER MATERIAL? WILL YOU USE KEYBOARDS OR MAYBE SAMPLES OR LOOPS?

Every new release is slightly different yet keeping the style of grim, second wave Black Metal. I don’t have a lot of free time, and there’s no need to hurry, but it is not far away from being finished. Just a little touch of electronic ambience, dead cold guitars with a pounding  beat and some slower parts is where I am now, vocals yet to be recorded. The album will be called “Autumnal Servitude”. If someone is actually looking for something more dark ambient / dungeon synth please check my other project Talog.

WHAT KIND OF BLACK METAL DO YOU PREFER TO LISTEN TO? SYMPHONIC BLACK VS RAW BLACK METAL, NORWEGIAN BLACK METAL VS REST OF THE WORLD BLACK METAL?

As I mentioned it before, first wave and second wave are my fave. I like early symphonic black as much as raw black metal, both had very similar emotional and epic sound of 90’s BM, it’s just that later symphonic black went into direction that I don’t like, losing the black roots for me. Old Norwegian Black Metal defines the genre for the reason, times when pure BM was ground breaking gave the best albums. But later most of them changed their sound and that’s where other countries gave their approach and continued with it, even when it was not in trend anymore, so I respect it too.

Tenebrositas1

ARE YOU A SATANIST? DO YOU BELIEVE IN THE EXISTENCE OF SOME SO CALLED HIGHER BEING OR IS IT ONLY US AND HOW WE LIVE THIS LIFE THAT WE HAVE? ARE YOU MAYBE LAVEYAN SATANIST?

Being just myself is enough for me. When I was editor of Fecal Forces Zeen I traded with The Black Flame. LaVeyan perspective on rejecting cheap moralism was interesting but I am afraid hypocrisy is also in the human nature.

IS THE NATURE AND ITS BEAUTY ONE OF THE INSPIRATIONS FOR YOU? DO YOU GET PISSED OFF QUICKLY?

More harsh and depressive sides on nature are influencing Tenebrositas.  About second question, you should ask people around me.

DO YOU BELIEVE IN EYE FOR AN EYE OR STREET JUSTICE?

From what I have seen, I don’t believe in justice. Street justice may be the only justice in some cases, but it may be the way to even bigger corruption, too.

I ONCE HEARD THAT YOU GOT VERY DISAPPOINTED IN HARDCORE PUNK SCENE SO YOU LIKE MORE OR LESS SAID GOODBYE TO IT? IS IT TRUE? IS KKTZ 2017 A VERY DIFFERENT PERSON FROM LETS SAY KKTZ 1997?

I get into hardcore punk in mid 80’s and I am still playing it. If you are interested in old school hc/punk with some metal influences check my current one man band GutterSkull and our 3 piece band Nuclear Altar. I get tired of the preaching that sometimes comes with punk, on the other hand DIY aspect of it is what still defines me as person. Is hardcore punk 2017 a very different scene from say hardcore punk 1997? I think so. Everything changes in 20 years. Then again, someone may say that I am not changing at all, still doing interviews, etc.

tenebrositas3

THAT IS IT FOR THIS TIME. THANK YOU AND SAY SOMETHING FOR THE END THAT YOU WOULD MAYBE LOVE TO SAY.

Thanx for support once again!

https://www.facebook.com/tenebrositas

http://tenebrositas.bandcamp.com/

Olden Sonorities Distro – https://www.discogs.com/seller/kktz/profile

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.